Yazoo Logo
American Rural - Compilations
American Rural - Single Artist
Piano Blues, Rags and Stomps
Early Jazz and Pop
Early Ethnic
Videos and DVDs
Ordering Information
Sleepy John Estes, "I Ain't Gonna Be Worried No More, 1929-1941"

Sleepy John Estes,
"I Ain't Gonna Be Worried No More, 1929-1941"
Yazoo 2004; Ordering Information

These classic Estes performances from the 1920s and 1930s convey a musical and emotional power rarely matched. Of all the musicians to come out of western Tennessee, Sleepy John Estes is unsurpassed in his moving style of singing the blues. His songs are drawn from the people and events of his hometown, Brownsville, Tenn., and are delivered with impeccable phrasing and feeling. With support from mandolinist Yank Rachell, Harmonicist Hammie Nixon and guitarist Son Bonds.

1. Milk Cow Blues (1930)
2. The Girl I Love, She Got Long Curly Hair (1929)
3. Someday Baby Blues (1935)
4. Little Laura Blues (1941)
5. Black Mattie Blues (1929)
6. Special Agent (Railroad Police Blues) (1938)
7. Broken-Hearted, Ragged And Dirty Too (1929)
8. Drop Down Mama (1935)
9. Street Car Blues (1930)
10. Lawyer Clark Blues (1941)
11. Whatcha Doin'? (1930)
12. Who's Been Tellin' You Buddy Brown Blues (1935)

13. Everybody Oughta Make A Change (1938)
14. Poor John Blues (1930)
15. Fire Department Blues (Martha Hardin) (1938)
16. I Ain't Gonna Be Worried No More (1935)
17. Diving Duck Blues (1929)
18. Down South Blues (1935)
19. Clean Up At Home (1938)
20. Floating Bridge (1935)
21. Working Man Blues (1941)
22. Airplane Blues (1935)
23. Stop That Thing (1935)

© 2000 Yazoo Recordsan